A total of five Competitions are held each season. The first three competitions are held through the season. Different local Clubs take turns to host the Competitions and over the three Competitions all the disciplines are covered but not necessarily at each Competition. These Competitions take place on a Sunday.

The fourth Competition is the Western Province Champs – also hosted by a local Club – but is held over two days: Saturday afternoon and Sunday. All the disciplines are covered over the 1 ½ days. The fifth and final Competition for the season is SA Nationals. This last Competition includes all the Surf Clubs in South Africa and each province takes a turn to host it. SA Nationals occurs over three days. All Competitions are all inclusive – there is no selection process to compete. Once you have achieved your Level Exam, you are eligible to take part in all or any of the 5 Competitions.

In addition to these competitions, lifeguards also battle it out annually in the Llandudno 8-man Classic.
The disciplines at competitions include:

Beach Flags
Beach Run
Beach Spring
Surf Swim Race
Run Swim Run
Board Race (Malibu or bodyboard)
Taplin Relay
Tube Rescue
Board Rescue
Craft Rescue
Surf Boat Race